Tags

, , ,

Hi everyone! It’s Kristina from The Feminine Files here, sorry we have been a little absent here on JP, we just got caught up with life and our real jobs 😉 Hope you have all been doing well and are having a great beginning to 2014! I have a review of some Essie polishes for you today, this was my first time trying the brand so I was rather excited. A couple months ago I won the Essie contest from makeup.com, they were giving away the Encrusted and the Winter 2013 collections plus a gorgeous BCBG Max Azria Harlow Sequin Envelope Cutch. So, I decided to keep and swatch for you half of the polishes from each collection and to give the other half’s plus the clutch away! (Yippie!) The clutch is really so pretty, but sadly my life isn’t that glamorous where I would ever feel “natural” using it haha. Anyway, lets get onto the swatches…

First up we have the Encrusted collection. This collection has an assortment of glitter/ textured polishes.

essie silver

Ignite the Night

First is Ignite the Night, it is a sparking grey/silver with a matte finish. (You can add topcoat for extra shine) The thinner formula applied very well for this type of polish, some are thick and goopy. It dries fairly quick and has great staying power. I like this polish it’s kind of grunge-y. It was a little tough to remove, I had to use pure acetone.

essie snow

Peak of Chic

Next is Peak of Chic, it is base of clear polish with white and some holographic bar glitter. It applied fairly easy and I did 2 coats, but you can build it up more to get a denser look or you can use 1 coat as a sparkly topper for other polishes. Not my favorite on it own…

essie gold

hors d’oeuvres

Last swatch from the encrusted collection is hors d’oeuvres, a light platinum gold with silver hex glitter. This one was my favorite of the 3, it is such a pretty mix of silver and gold and it’s so sparkly! Only down side is that it is a MESS to remove. I would do it over a paper towel because the silver hex glitter just goes everywhere! It’s worth it to me though 😀

~

Next I have swatches from the Winter 2013 collection:

essie green

Parka Perfect

First is Parka Perfect (what a cute name!) It’s a dark slightly grey mint green creme with very subtle shimmer. It applied nicely with 2 coats and was a breeze to remove!

essie burgandy

Sable Collar

Then we have Sable Collar a rich iridescent chocolate/plum shade. This was a little on the thick side so it was slightly trickier to apply, but 2 coats was plenty. The finish seemed a little dull, so I added a top coat to bring out the shimmer.

Warm & Toasty Turtleneck

Warm & Toasty Turtleneck

Lastly, is Warm & Toasty Turtleneck (I dont know about you, but I think of lilacs 🙂 ) But the theme here is winter, so I get it! Anyway, its a beautiful lilac creme that was somewhat sheer, I had to use 3 coats to get full and even coverage. This was also easy to remove.

So, I really enjoyed this collection! There were lots of different textures and colors I didn’t own so I was very happy with it. Essie polishes retail for $8.50 and can be found at CVS, Target, Ulta and many other retailers and of course online at essie.com!

Now, onto the giveaway! 1 winner will win 3 polishes from the Encrusted collection (Belugaria, Lot’s of Lux and On a Silver Platter) and 3 from the Winter 2013 collection (Shearling Darling, Mind your Mittens (again, so cute!!) and Toggle to the Top) PLUS the Sequin Clutch! Just Enter HERE!

Prizes:

prize Collage

Thank you so much for reading, hope you enjoyed! Please share with your friends and follow us on Bloglovin’

essie Collage